Beautiful People–March (:

bp whispers and murmurs.png

I must have mentioned before that I love Beautiful People? If I didn’t, I am now ūüôā

This go-round I decided to hand over the questions to Nikaiya, the MC of Book 1, Whispers & Murmurs. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoyed writing!

THE QUESTIONS:

1. What’s your favorite book/movie/play/etc.?

Movies aren’t very big here, and I can’t say I’m bothered by that. I much prefer books! I spend most of my time outside in the gardens with Vflenor. Or¬†in the sea. And¬†overlooking Naza to people-watch and eavesdrop. Plays are more of a…secret passion. *fidgets*

Oh, right, you asked about my favorite. *Sigh*

Well…it’s somewhat¬†embarrassing…

My favorite play is the first I’ve ever seen. It’s called A Lantern Beside the Sea.¬†It sounds better when I say it’s an imaginative, playful story¬†about a¬†monarch who has rarely been seen by her own people, much less the outside world. The narrator makes fantastical¬†guesses at who this secret, hidden person is, and what kind of life she leads. And that isn’t untrue…but everyone knows the play is about me.

*Snorts* I’m only slightly egocentric for loving it so.

I¬†adore its whimsy, and, though I’ve only admitted this to Vflenor, I¬†most love¬†it¬†because¬†it shows me that my¬†people have considered my. Even if only in a bizzare light. The writer didn’t seem to hate me, at least…

My favorite book would have to be Twenty Ways to Dye My Skin, a story about a young girl who learns about hope and how she, too, can impact the world. It reminded me of Miaka. *Shrugs* It inspired me.

2. Is there anything you regret doing?

Ummm…just one thing? *Puts finger to lip* ¬†*Winces*

I clearly haven’t learned my lesson yet because I still refuse to deny my curiosity, which gets me¬†into trouble, but one time I tripped backward and fell¬†out of the east court window (and into a jagged Ka tree).¬†I was trying¬†to avoid¬†the notice of Marinae and my mother, who were in the midst of what seemed to be a heated argument.

The pain wasn’t as terrible as it should have been, but the way I fell…I couldn’t, um,¬†no, there’s no flattering way to say this:¬†I couldn’t get out. Betrayed by my own two feet and a thorn tree. And my refusal to stop listening to conversations that aren’t any of my business.

In my unconvincing defense, it isn’t like I asked to overhear everything within the tiny borders of Kir. I really can’t help it.

3. If they were sick or wounded, who would take care of them and how?

*Look of consternation*

I once asked Mother about fevers, and she told me I never had to worry about them–or anything like them. She said it’s something about my blood. I’ve never been sick.

Hypothetically, I suppose Marinae would look after me. Unless my parents wished to themselves, of course.

4. Is there an object they can’t bear to part with and why?

Objects are transient. I don’t hold anything so close to my heart.

…Why must there be something? *Scowls*

Well it¬†isn’t an object, but I love the ocean. I would die without it. Literally.

5. What are 5 ways to win your heart (or friendship)?

*Blank stare*

You could pretend to be me, and then, if your act is passable, take my place. I’m not¬†kidding. I don’t know. Love books? Love the sea?

You know what? Just copy Miaka. Everyone will love you, including me.

6. Describe a typical outfit from top to bottom.

Ugh. I don’t necessarily¬†despise clothing apart from sandals, but why can’t my¬†skirts be shorter? I’m always tripping over them, kicking them out from underneath and between my legs.

Of course that question was rhetorical because MY SKIN TURNS¬†BLUE WHEN IT RAINS AND IF ANY SOURCE OF WATER TOUCHES ME. As you can imagine, such an oddity would make securing a suitor difficult if not impossible…which is fine with me. Except no suitor=no marriage=no heir.

Long sleeved, flowing blue¬†blouses, long, flowing blue skirts, and jeweled sandals it is, then. For all eternity…

7. What’s your favorite type of weather?

Storms! Storms are glorious.

8. What’s the worst fight you’ve ever been in?

To date, it’d have to be the fourth fight I’ve had with Mother about finding a suitor. I keep trying to tell her I don’t like men and I don’t like marriage, either, and I thought we’d agreed that I didn’t have to entertain anyone’s fancies until at least another starlength.

She conveniently forgets such details in her zeal…

9. What names or nicknames have they been called throughout their life?

What’s a nickname?

Oh. I’ve never had one of those. I’m mostly addressed as Karun, occasionally Nikaiya…but never anything else.

Easy to remember, at least.

10. What makes your heart feel alive?

*Smiles* Chatting with Vflenor!

…Of course I’m lying. I can’t tell you what makes my heart feel alive. I DON’T HAVE A HEART.

*Sighs* If you must know, my heart¬†feels alive when I¬†look to and think of¬†the sea. I know, I know. I’m the Karun. I have responsibilities to fulfill, people who rely on me. But I…I never wanted any of that. Freedom…ever the dream, huh? We always seem to want what we can’t have.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful People–March (:

  1. Ooh, this sounds so intriguing! Her skin turns BLUE when water touches it? Is that why she loves the oceans and storms, because it’s a forbidden/dangerous thing? And she never gets sick….is that because she’s magic? I lOVE that you made up plays/books for your world – and they sound so realistic too. I feel kinda sorry for her ūüė¶

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you! It is such a relief and a wonder to hear someone say your work is intriguing *^_^*. :fist pump:

      Gonna try to answer all your questions :)!

      YES. Lol
      Seabreather skin shimmers/glows when in contact with water. Most glow a subtler color–pink, brown/bronze, dark green. Blue is almost unheard of (which is important to the plot)…but that’s for another time.

      Hmmm. Nikaiya is quite bullheaded and sometimes rebellious (though she generally means well). Doing things because they’re forbidden isn’t really her cup of tea. That said, she loves thrill-seeking, adventure, and things that get her blood pumping in general. More than anything, I think she loves storms because of their wildness coupled with their ability to evoke sobriety (she’s a deep thinker).

      Yes, it is her Seabreather Gravitation that prevents her from getting sick…though I honestly don’t understand why yet myself. :shrugs:

      THANK YOU! I want to incorporate bits and pieces where I can to give a sense of tangibility. ūüėÄ

      Hahaha me too, a little. Don’t feel too bad though ;)! Everyone has things they struggle with and things they excel in. Otherwise we’d have very few, if any, stories O_O.

      I hope that, Lord willing, if Whispers & Murmurs ever gets published, you’ll love this character as much as I do ^_^.

      Like

Leave a Reply

